Back to All Events

Daniel Mason

  • Kepler's Books 1010 El Camino Real Menlo Park, CA, 94025 United States (map)
images.jpg

In the vein of Abraham Verghese and Anthony Doer, comes an utterly entrancing new novel from International bestselling author, Daniel Mason.

A professor of Psychiatry at Stanford University, Mason’s novels The Piano Tuner and A Far Country have been translated into 28 languages, adapted for the opera and theater, and marked bestseller lists across the world.

Set in 1914, in the gilded splendor of Imperial Vienna, Mason’s new novel, The Winter Soldier, transports readers into the beguiling and beautiful winter that dawned a new, less innocent Europe. Arriving in a remote Valley of the Carpathian Mountains, Lucius, a twenty-two-year-old medical student, bears witness to the first casualties of World War I, bringing him face-to-face with the thundering realities of war.

Propelled by the Romantic ideals of youth into the sweeping tide of history, Mason's transcendant new novel confronts timeless questions of love, family, and the limits of medicine.

Join us for an evening with one of the great literary stars of the Bay Area.

Earlier Event: September 15
Big Ideas Reading Group